Four and Twenty Blackbirds

Short Story

First published: 1950


  • Falling/Being Pushed

A Hercule Poirot story


Four and Twenty Blackbirds

A man eats the same food, on the same days, at the same restaurant every week. When his habits change, Poirot investigates. From The Adventure of the Christmas Pudding and Three Blind Mice and Other Stories.

More about this story

Having been printed in a US magazine in 1926 titled Poirot and the Regular Customer, the story didn’t appear in a UK publication, The Strand Magazine, until 1941. It was in 1960 that it was included in a book collection, The Adventure of the Christmas Pudding and in the US in the collection Three Blind Mice and Other Stories in 1950.

It was adapted for TV starring David Suchet in the first season of Agatha Christie’s Poirot in 1989, and included the characters of Hastings (Hugh Fraser), Japp (Philip Jackson), and Miss Lemon (Pauline Moran). In 2004 it was adapted for the Japanese anime series Agatha Christie no Meitantei Poirot to Marple, in which Poirot teams up with Miss Marple’s great niece to solve crimes.

Other stories you might enjoy

After the Funeral
Hercule Poirot
Death On The Nile
Hercule Poirot
Black Coffee - Play
Hercule Poirot

Download the Hercule Poirot reading list

Download PDF

Join the conversation

Keep updated with our newsletter