Introducing A New Collection Starring Jane Marple

Thumbnail Marple Quotation

A brand new collection of short stories featuring the Queen of Crime’s legendary detective Jane Marple, penned by twelve remarkable bestselling and acclaimed authors. This book will introduce the character to a whole new generation. Each author included in the new publication will reimagine Christie’s Marple through their own unique perspective while staying true to the hallmarks of a traditional mystery.

Miss Marple was first introduced to readers in a story Christie wrote for The Royal Magazine in 1927 and made her first appearance in a full-length novel in 1930’s The Murder at the Vicarage. It has been 45 years since Agatha Christie’s last Marple novel, Sleeping Murder, was published posthumously in 1976, and this collection of ingenious new stories by twelve Christie devotees will be a timely reminder why Jane Marple remains the most famous fictional female detective of all time.

Our writers are:

• Naomi Alderman
• Leigh Bardugo
• Alyssa Cole
• Lucy Foley
• Elly Griffiths
• Natalie Haynes
• Jean Kwok
• Val McDermid
• Karen M. McManus
• Dreda Say Mitchell
• Kate Mosse
• Ruth Ware

It feels very exciting to allow this formidable selection of authors the opportunity to come up with new adventures and mysteries for Miss Marple. It is time for readers to rediscover Marple and I personally cannot wait to read the resulting stories.
James Prichard, Chairman and CEO, Agatha Christie Ltd and great-grandson of Agatha Christie

Sign up to the newsletter to receive The World of Agatha Christie: 1920s magazine