Detection Club

Formed in 1930, The Detection Club was a group of British mystery writers which included Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers, Ronald Knox, Freeman Wills Crofts, Arthur Morrison, John Rhode, Jessie Rickard, Baroness Emma Orczy, R. Austin Freeman, G.D.H. Cole, Margaret Cole, E.C. Bentley, Henry Wade, and H.C. Bailey. Anthony Berkeley played a big role in setting up the club.

The Detection Club would not only help each other with technical aspects in their individual writings, but they also wrote a number of works together, with members of the club contributing one or more chapters in turn.Agatha Christie was the president of the Detection Club between 1957-1976.

Books by the Detection Club

Sign up to the newsletter to receive The World of Agatha Christie magazine