Agatha Christie’s Poirot

Agatha Christie’s Poirot debuted on ITV in the UK in 1989 and ran for almost 25 years, beaming into millions of homes in 200 countries.


The diminutive Belgian detective was brought to life by acclaimed actor David Suchet, who famously perfected Poirot’s signature “rapid, mincing gait” and precise mannerisms.

Over 13 series and 70 episodes, Poirot was joined by friends and allies Captain Arthur Hastings (Hugh Fraser), crime writer Ariadne Oliver (Zoe Wanamaker), secretary Miss Felicity Lemon (Pauline Moran), and Inspector James Japp of Scotland Yard (Philip Jackson), with the occasional appearance from his butler George (David Yelland). Set predominantly in the 1930s, the show adapted every Poirot story that Christie had written. The series’ run came to a fitting and poignant end in 2013 with the airing of Curtain: Poirot’s Last Case.

The episodes are still broadcast regularly, with many on streaming sites such as Netflix, as well as being available on DVD.

Agatha Christie's Poirot on ITV3

Meet the Cast

Agatha Christie

Meet the Cast

They continue to be familiar faces on our screens after an initial run of almost 25 years. Meet the regular cast from Agatha Christie’s Poirot.

Find out more

Sign up to our newsletter to receive the St Mary Mead Magazine