The Labours of Hercules

  • Hercule Poirot
  • Collection (12 stories)
  • 1947

Before retirement, Poirot takes on the twelve labours of his namesake, each one a new mystery to be solved across Europe. This collection includes 12 short stories.

More about this collection

Hercule Poirot resolves to take on twelve final cases before retirement and each one corresponds to one of the twelve labours of his Greek namesake. The short stories were initially serialised from 1939 in the Strand Magazine in the UK and This Week and Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine in the US (under different titles). The Capture of Cerberus was rejected by the UK magazine and Christie rewrote it for the book collection. The original version was only discovered in 2009 by John Curran (see Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks).

The Capture of Cerberus also features an appearance from Countess Vera Rossakoff, a dangerous and beautiful woman, Poirot’s only acknowledged love interest.

The collection was adapted for TV in 2013 as part of the final series of Agatha Christie's Poirot starring David Suchet, in which the different stories were woven together to make one film.

In this collection

The Nemean Lion
Hercule Poirot
The Lernean Hydra
Hercule Poirot
The Arcadian Deer
Hercule Poirot
The Erymanthian Boar
Hercule Poirot
The Augean Stables
Hercule Poirot
The Stymphalean Birds
Hercule Poirot
The Cretan Bull
Hercule Poirot
The Horses of Diomedes
Hercule Poirot
The Girdle of Hyppolita
Hercule Poirot
The Apples of Hesperides
Hercule Poirot
The Capture of Cerberus
Hercule Poirot

Buy The Labours of Hercules

* We earn a small commission on purchases made through any Amazon affiliate links on this page.

Download the Hercule Poirot reading list

Download PDF

Sign up to the newsletter to receive The World of Agatha Christie: 1920s magazine